Great News: Rising 6th and 7th Graders

Hello everyone:

Today, we are working feverishly to tweak our units from this year to include benchmark work for next year; it’s eerily quiet without the students, however, we are accomplishing SO MUCH!

Quick News Flash: This year, we wrote a grant with an after school organization to be able to provide FREE after school for up to forty-five 6th and 7th graders.  I just received a call that we WON the grant!

For the next three years, Xposure After School will offer classes that begin at 3 and end at 6pm.  I can tell you now that activities like coding and stop animation will be on the list of offerings: we have a pretty good idea of what the students would like and will build their interests into the docket.

Woo-hoo!

Hope your weekend is wonderful.

all best,

Donna

Afternoon BSI Families,

So many exciting events took place last week and there are MORE fantastic events on the way.

BSI BAND CONCERT:

Our Band concert is finally here. Everyone is invited to come and enjoy the concert this Wednesday (5/20/15) at 6:00 pm in the Auditorium of Seth Low JHS. More details here.

BSI MUSICAL:

We are excited to announce BSI’s third school musical, Roald Dahl’s Willy Wonka. Our musical cast, which consists of BSI 4th, 5th, and 6th graders, have been working extremely hard all year on this performance. Please come join us, and help support our wonderful cast and stage crew.

The performance will take place in our school auditorium. The show will last approximately an hour and a half, and includes a 15 minute intermission.

There will be three performances of the musical.

  • Saturday, June 13 at 2:00 pm
  • Sunday, June 14 at 2:00 pm
  • Wednesday, June 24 at 5:00 pm

You can pre-purchase the tickets here.  This will help us streamline the process and prevent a long wait in line on the day of the event.


Upcoming Dates:

Wednesday, May 20
Gr3 In-House Trip: Dance Africa Pre-Show Workshops (students only)
BSI Band Concert at Seth Low 6:00 pm
Thursday, May 21
Gr. 2 Field Trip: The Brooklyn Bridge
Gr. 3 Field Trip: Brooklyn Academy of Music
Gr. 5 Field Trip: MoMath
K Visit with Ambulance @ BSI 10:00am
Friday, May 22
No Students in Attendance: BSI PD
Monday, May 25
No School: Memorial Day
Tuesday, May 26
Gr4 Science Test Part 1: Performance Lab
Wednesday, May 27
Gr4 Science Test Part 1: Performance Lab
Gr3 Hall of Science Trip
Thursday, May 28
Gr4 Science Test Part 1: Performance Lab
Friday, May 29
Gr4 Science Test Part 1: Performance Lab
Gr. 2 Field Trip: Salt Marsh Nature Center
Gr3 In House Field Trip: Lion Dance Performance
Saturday, May 30
6th grade Dance in Gym
Monday, June 1
Grade 4 Science Test Part 2: Written 
Wednesday, June 3
K Field Trip: Bartel-Pritchard Greenmarket
Spring Curriculum Night
Thursday, June 4
No School for Students: Chancellor's Conference Day
Friday, June 5
Gr2 Bridge Building (rain date: June 8th)
Saturday, June 6
Gala Auction Event @ Roulette
Tuesday, June 9
Clerical Half Day
Thursday, June 11
K Field Trip: Brooklyn Botanic Garden
Friday, June 12
Friends & Family Day (formerly Grandparents Day)
Saturday, June 13
Willy Wonka Performance- for Parents 2:00pm
Sunday, June 14
Willy Wonka Performance- for Parents 2:00pm
Monday, June 15
Clerical Half Day
Thursday, June 18
BSI Library Day- Please return all books!
Tuesday, June 23
BSI Library Day- Please return all books
Wednesday, June 24
Willy Wonka Performance- for Parents   6:30pm
BSI PTO MEETING - AUDITORIUM
Friday, June 26
Early Dismissal: Last Day of School

Spirit Week: Pajama Day & Walk-A-Thon

Afternoon Everyone,

This Thursday, May 14th is Pajama Day here at BSI. Our spirit days are an opportunity for us to come together as a learning community to have fun and build school spirit. Students and staff will be participating in the fun. Don’t forget to send your child in or with PJs tomorrow.

On Friday, May 15th beginning at 9:00 am in Seth Low Park, students from BSI, The Academy of Talented Scholars (P.S. 682) and Academy for Building Learning Experiences (P.S. 370) will take part in a Walk-A-Thon. The three schools will be wearing coordinated t-shirt colors for the event.

BSI colors are blue and yellow. Please dress your child in comfortable walking shoes and a blue or yellow t-shirt. (Shirts can be solid, patterned, with or without writing, as long as the main color is blue or yellow.)

If you would like to volunteer for the Walk-A-Thon, click here.

Here are some pictures from today:

(Wacky Hat Wednesday) 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A school grows in Brooklyn

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 433 other followers